Skip to content

It Is You

January 17, 2011

Ohhhhhhh yeah.

I’ll be frank, I don’t know who those men are. I know very little about The Specials, in fact, I don’t think I’ve even listened to any of their songs except for one. That song isn’t even an original, it’s a cover, originally by Jamaican band Toot & The Maytals.

Oh, Pressure Drop. How do I even begin to explain my affinity to this song? Primarily I know of it because it’s on the Grosse Point Blank, but more than that, it seems to have been a soundtrack to my life for a long time, without my explicit knowledge of it. Out of every song I’ve known though (Under Pressure comes a close second), it transcends any dilemma or sadness, and while of course it doesn’t resolve a situation or alleviate all pain, in keeping with the song’s attitude, it provides comfort and resolve, knowing that issues are worked through, even if not solved.

Not to mention it’s brilliant backup vocals and general instrumentation – the only thing better than ska is ska with enthusiastic backup chanting, organ and slightly distorted electric guitar. And when these men are telling me “pressure’s gonna drop on you”, or shaking me out of my sulking state by reminding me “life gets rough, life gets tough, so wachoo gonna do about it”.

I’m typically white, I like black music that black people no longer like. Even better if a white band is covering a black song. I do like the original, but the starting organ is just utterly sublime to me. It feels like I can let the outside world in, allow myself to relax, and just let the music take over, because for those four minutes and nineteen seconds, the outside world doesn’t matter. If all my problems were resolved then the song would have no meaning. Its true brilliance to me is that it takes me away for a time, and prepares me for the tasks and the pressure ahead. It’s simply knowing that you can accomplish it.

Words can’t particularly describe the impact of this song upon my life. Perhaps the music can. You may not feel the same way I do, but that’s what it’s all about.

Be excellent to each other, and party on dudes.

From → Music, Personal

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

