Skip to content

Play It Fucking Loud

February 7, 2011

Recently I treated you lot to the art of managing Angus’s life, as some kind of collective e-wife. You find it boring? I don’t believe you… you’re a liar.

Okay, enough with the obscure Bob Dylan references.

One of my current issues with my life is my lack of exercise – I find it hard to keep up a personal scheme, so I’ve been considering going back to Fitness First. Despite its outrageous fees, it is a state of the art venue and it’s also close to where I live, just a fifteen minute walk away at Spit Junction. Compared to say, PCYC, which while charging a fifth of the cost, is further away, requiring me to catch a 230 (not too big of a deal as 230’s do come half hourly right next to my house) and has shabbier and less equipment.

The alternative is to pick up a martial art, which is something I’ve been keen on for a while – I’m not particularly brawny, so to be able to defend myself would be very useful as well as the discipline that is inherent within martial arts. That part in particular would combine well with my drumming, which, courtesy of my teacher, takes on zen-like attributes in terms of practice, self-control and balance. There’s no reason I couldn’t do both gym and a martial art as well, which would be further helpful.

Sort of an issue finding a good place locally to do a martial art though – I’d like to pick up Karate again, although honestly all martial arts are good. For instance, this taido place looks intriguing – http://www.northshore.taido.org.au/ – I’d never heard of taido, but seems like a fine martial art to me. I understand this all sounds terribly vague and waffley – “ah yeah they’re all good!” – but to me it’s much more about fitting into my schedule as opposed to whether it’s the best martial art or not.

Of course given that’s only on Tuesday nights, that means I wouldn’t be able to work those nights, or at least my training would be sporadic, which is exactly what you don’t want in exercise or in martial arts.  It’s just frustrating that the variables of my uni timetables and my coworker returning from Europe won’t be solved for a few weeks, so I just have to wait before I organise my life – but of course, if I were to quit Big Band, I do need to do it asap, lest I pay the $150 for rather little purpose, and out of politeness to Saul and Karen as well.

I think I shall quit Big Band. It’s fun, but honestly, I really like having my Thursday nights free, and I’ll be doing enough as it is, with my music, uni work and ABC, not to mention that ol’ social life of mine. Having Thursday nights (and likely Fridays too with the ABC) constantly busy is quite a hindrance and seriously inflexible. Plus, while I do enjoy Big Band, being one of two drummers really does kill the buzz. It is good practice, so I will miss it, as well as the people involved, not to mention the variety of music it teaches me to play in, but I can’t always be a big band drummer, let alone just a secondary drummer.

tl;dr: I’m considering quitting big band, picking up a martial art with the extra free time that will allow, and potentially going to the gym.

In other news, had one of those feel good moments today, running down to the ferry, in which any burden upon my shoulders feels that much lighter. I often attribute it to endorphins (yeah I know, running two minutes, great exercise Angus) and simply getting out of the house, which is becoming increasingly rarer now that Fallout 3 has taken over my life again (I recently discovered an effing mutated talking tree in that game, absolutely freaked out). Skye knows all about these, they happen every month or two. It helps when listening to excellent Japanese progressive symphonic metal. Art of Life, by X Japan – written entirely by drummer/pianist Yoshiki with help from Schubert’s unfinished Symphony No. 8 according to Wikipedia – is damn good stuff.

So everyone who’s been talking about “apparently Angus got sad later on” at Jack’s, I’m fine I’m fine, although everyone’s concern is appreciated.

On a slightly annoyed note, I’m cool that everyone drunk my gin, that’s what I bought it for, but a thanks here or there wouldn’t be entirely unappreciated. It’s not that nobody acknowledges it, it’s that people acknowledge it snidely, as in “oh angus we’re drinking all your gin lol”. I don’t care that you do, it’s for sharing, but come on, make fun of me all you want but it’s in nobody’s interests to try to dissuade me from providing alcohol.

We’ve got three weeks until uni starts again people, let’s have some fun – there are some good bars that we always mention but never go to, like Jacksons, and Chingalings is definitely worth another visit.

This blog has been far too conversational. Oh dear. With no direction home. A complete unknown. Like a Rolling Stone.

From → Personal

4 Comments
  1. kshizzle permalink

    gin!@
    sorry i broke the bottle. it was already empty though.

    i don’t think any opinion of mine to do with exercise could be respected so i won’t say anything.

  2. Kaylee permalink

    dude, you totally need to keep more nights free, who am i supposed to go drinking with? huh?

    plus, i need help with my macro hw, plus you need to teach me politics, plus i’m awesome and you need to spend time with me. 🙂

    • you say that like i’m the one that’s been staying out of contact

      you make a good point though, defs need more nights off – although hell i might still work on some thursday nights, but unless i’m working three shifts i’ll always have at least two out of thurs/fri/sat off =)

      i’ll try, although i think you’d probably be better at understanding macro than me. politics though? no worries

Leave a Reply

