Skip to content

In And Around The Lake

April 9, 2011

I love progressive rock. It has such ridiculous yet excellent lyrics. If Yes weren’t Yes then passages like this would not be forgiven:

In and around the lake
Mountains come out of the sky and they stand there
One mile over we’ll be there and we’ll see you
Ten true summers we’ll be there and laughing too
Twenty four before my love you’ll see I’ll be there with you

But that was Jon Anderson’s style – his lyrics weren’t dadaist, but he has admitted that he often considers the sounds of words far more than he considers their lyrical intent. Even David Bowie has been known to piece together lyrics. Hell, David Gilmour’s solo on Comfortably Numb is an amalgamation of four different solos.

It’s been a while since I’ve blogged. Not too long I guess. I have noticed that over time it has slowly degenerated from what was intended to be a purely article-style blog to much more of a platform for opinions and updates on my thrilling life. Like a verbose facebook status. As a side note: both phones and internet browsers now try to correct “facebook” to “Facebook” – god damnit. Right now? Been taking a longish break from my not so productive stint at essay writing today to write this, watch Bill Maher and listen to Eddie Harris. I like this combination.

And now I return to writing this three hours later. Do I have much to say? Well, not right now – I’ve got a few topics that I’ve put down in my phone so I may write a few in quick succession sometime soon, as is generally my habit. Yes by the way, I have an iphone – for everyone who asked, my dad was on the waiting list from virgin so I have it on a plan and got it for “free”. It’s a fairly good phone honestly – I wouldn’t pay $800 for it, but as a standalone product? It’s pretty damn sweet, and far superior to my previous LG Renoir. I’m not a fan of apple, but I will not deny some of their products are fairly good. I maintain that if you possess a good phone and a laptop then an ipad is virtually useless – especially as the Kindle is by far the superior reader, by sheer virtue of not being an LCD screen.

Thank god for my one week extension to International Security. Mind you, I think we all deserve it – this major essay was originally due in at the start of week 7, when we’d have only done six weeks of course work. Now we’re one tutorial behind because one of them was an “essay” tutorial, and our lecturer, with his thick accent, unfortunately gets carried away in examples when we’ve understood the largely simple premises of the subject, at one point I think we were close to being two weeks behind – we’re currently just a week behind. But there’s no other essay or assessment for this subject – it’s just the large essay, no small one, no tute presentation, along with the end of semester exam and the tute participation mark. That said, we did get the extension, so I think that’s largely rectified the situation.

I’ll probably write a blog about Bill Maher, The Police, my musical ambitions or my general ethos of life sometime in the next few upcoming blogs. Oh and there’s my little rant about how politicians know little about economics – certainly Labor and Liberal are little more qualified than the Greens in that regard, although of course they would undoubtedly be more experienced at running government.

As a parting question – I’ve often found hilarity in but also lamented the general air that I seem to give off as somebody who’s quite conservative. Admittedly, it’s not entirely untrue – I’m undoubtedly left of centre but there are certain conservative traits I still maintain, likely due to my father’s influence and history as a barrister who came from relative poverty, worked very hard, and now has a comfortably lifestyle, although up until recently he always had to work a lot – almost twelve hour days.  But I digress, what is it that makes me appear so?

One mile over we’ll be there and we’ll see you.

From → Personal

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

