Skip to content

Ballad of a Truthy Man

October 7, 2012

So I was inspired by this guy, and decided that perhaps I should follow suit, and contribute something of my own to the public sphere – trying to overcome fear of putting one’s self out there I guess. I wrote this, god, over a year ago, maybe two. I was obsessed with Bob Dylan, and I just loved his take-down of the press and other people he despised in “Ballad of a Thin Man”. I was so particularly incensed after Tony Abbott lost the election in 2010, at how brazen and childish his demands were, so I wondered if it were possible to co-opt the lyrics and format Bob Dylan laid down. I didn’t manage to finish the last two verses, but this is what I ended up with. And note: if you haven’t heard the song, these words aren’t going to make much sense. 

You walk into a room and
With no thought in yo head
You see someone red haired and you say
Where’s her cred

You try so hard
But you don’t understand
Just what you say to the voters

Because somethings happening here and you don’t know what it is
Do you, Mr Tones

You raise up your head
And you can’t say what I am
And somebody points to me and says
it’s a sham

And you say what’s mine
And somebody says, well what is
And you say oh my god am I here all alone
Because something is happening here and nobody knows what it is
Do they, Mr Tones

You go to a rally and
You talk to the crowd
Their shrieking oh it
Gets quite loud

Then you say how does it feel
To be run by Mr Brown
And you say impossible
Let the ballots be redrawn

And something is happening here and I know just what it is,
Don’t you, Mr Tones

You have many contacts
Among the plutocrats
To get you facts when someone attacks
Your imagination

But nobody has any respect
Anyway they already expect you
To all give a cheque to tax deductible
Profitable organisations

You been with the professors and,
They don’t like your looks
With great confidence they discuss your
Foolish public crooks

You been through all of those
John Howard’s books
You’re high in the polls it’s well known

But something will happen here and you won’t know when it is,
Will you, Mr Tones

Well the emissions guzzlers
They come up to you and then they kneel
They advertise their
Self interested spiel

And without further notice
He’ll say to you, I think it’s real
But I’ve got a good policy,
It’s not well known

And you know something is happening but you can’t admit to what it is
Can you Mr Tones

Maybe one day I might finish those last two verses.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

